My Roman Holiday

Standard

This past week to celebrate my birthday, I went on a little trip.. to Rome.

It was the first time I’d been there, or even to Italy, so it was something I was so excited to do.  I’d always wanted to tour the ancient ruins of this timeless city, and finally I was getting a chance.

It also helped that a friend of mine lives in the city with his boyfriend, so it gave us a chance to catch up since we hadn’t seen each other in 4 or 5 years since his last trip to London.

I have to say.. as much as I’ve loved my recent beach holidays to Gran Canaria, this trip to Rome definitely took my breathe away.  The surreality of standing in the Coliseum, looking out over the ruins on my actual birthday Wednesday kept getting to me.

There I was, just a guy from a small town in Canada, standing in one of the most ancient wonders of the world.  It was so breath-taking at times that I had to catch myself bursting from happiness.

I truly loved wandering around the city (even if my feet said otherwise afterwards hahaha), and just seeing what amazing sight was around each corner.  The buildings, the streets, the food, and ohmygod.. the men!!  LOL

Yeah, I definitely had a terrific trip, and it’s a city I’d love to return to some day, as there was only so much I could see in the 3 days I was there.  But at least I got to see most of the major things that were on my list.. even if some of them required me to wait in a 3 hour queue.. Yes, I’m looking at you, Vatican.  😉

Anyway, here are just a handful of snaps I took over the course of my trip.  Think I took well over 200 pictures, so I’ve just selected a few of my favourites.

Ciao!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 thoughts on “My Roman Holiday

    • Thanks Keith. It was fantastic!! I would definitely recommend it. Just to be in such an ancient place is quite humbling and exciting at the same time.

      • When in Rome. Sorry could not resist. William loves Rome with all the history. I was facinated with the the architecture and fountains. It’s actully a very romantic place. Now next time go to Venice as well. Ivan

      • Oh yes.. Venice is definitely on my list of places to go. Would have loved to done a tour of several cities but sadly the budget wouldn’t allow it lol

    • Thanks Ivan. I had loads of fun in Rome and would easily go back to visit again.. there’s so much to see and experience there. The monuments, architecture, statues etc.

Tell me what you think:

