Holiday Dramas and Regrets

20151120_185523 (2)
Standard

As I wrote back in March (click here for previous post), I’d booked a return trip to Gran Canaria, only I wasn’t going alone this time.  A young Italian mate was coming along, and despite a few misgivings, I’d agreed to allow him to share the apartment I’d rented for the week.

As only casual mates, this holiday was either going to make or break our friendship..  Let’s just say there isn’t a friendship anymore.  I should have listened to my gut feelings about this one.

I’d pre-warned him before he booked his flight that I snore, and we would be sharing a 1-bedroom apartment (2 single beds, thankfully).  Oh and that he’d be seeing me naked, of course.  LOL

He’d said he was fine with all of it, so off we flew to Gran Canaria and somehow ended up in seats next to each other, even though we’d booked our flights months apart.  Small world.

fuck the dramaBut it turned out that he was going to be a bit of a handful over the course of the week, and it quickly felt like I was babysitting a little drama queen.  It didn’t help any that I’d come down with a sinus cold the night before we’d flown away.

Firstly, he complained while we waited to board the plane that he felt gross because he’d hadn’t had time to moisturise that morning (he’s barely 30!), then he moaned at how he was stuck in a middle seat and how uncomfortable the seat was.

Once we’d arrived and picked up the keys for the apartment, he immediately started going on about how we could have found an even nicer place for the money we were paying.  That wasn’t on the 4th floor with no lift.  And that was bigger, probably with separate bedrooms.

*Sigh*.. I think he’d already forgotten that he was tagging along on the holiday I’d booked, not something we’d arranged together.

That night I went to the Yumbo for drinks with my dear friend ‘M’ who was already there on holiday (was there the week before on a naturalist group holiday), and the young Italian tagged along.  He’d left his mobile back at the flat, and I had to ‘remind’ him how to get back to the flat when he left.

snoring guyOnce I got back went to bed, he kept poking me throughout the night, and then complained at length in the morning how loudly I was snoring.  Something he knew would happen, plus the sinus cold probably didn’t help.

I tried to shrug it off, but that night when we were heading to bed, he actually had the nerve to ask me “Could you try not to snore tonight so I can actually get some sleep?”.

Yeah.. the little princess actually said that.

I snapped.

I’m generally a fairly easy going person, but this guy had really gotten under my skin.  After angrily reminding him at length that he was forewarned of my snoring, and I eventually got up for a smoke to cool off before falling asleep on the little sofa.

The best though was the first day on the beach when I simply asked him to put some cream on my back so I wouldn’t burn.  To me, this was a simple enough request of a mate when on holiday together.

But oh no, not for him.  He immediately got really uncomfortable and started going on about how he doesn’t do that sort of thing.  That he doesn’t do ‘public displays’..

Ummm.. huh?!?!

It wasn’t like I was asking him to fuck me on the beach or something.  Haha  Perhaps it was because I was naked and he wasn’t.. it was a nude beach after all.

cute bums on beachBut here’s the kicker… several hours later, he started chatting to a cute German guy and actually offered to put cream on the guy’s back.  That’s right.. he was quite fine with a ‘public display’ when it came to someone he fancied.

What a hypocrite! hahaha

There were a few other little things, silly things, that were annoying when you put them all together. I’m not going to list them all since that’ll take way too long.  Each day there seemed to be a new little drama, and I really didn’t want to deal with it anymore.

Generally after the 2nd day or so, I went off and did my own thing, especially after my mate ‘M’ headed back to London. It’s wasn’t that I specifically tried to avoid him, but I didn’t go out of my way to hang with him.  If we happened to be in the same place, then fine.

Most nights he’d go to bed around midnight, despite the bars not really getting busy until then.  He claimed he didn’t want to miss the beach the next day.. despite the beach not getting really busy until midday.  I was there to have fun, so was out late each night enjoying myself and went to the beach whenever I felt like it.

In the end, it wasn’t as great holiday as the last time, but I did my best to enjoy myself.  I relaxed, got a nice all over tan, and even had a bit of fun with a couple of guys near the end of the week.

I’d still go back again at some point.. but now I know to either go on holiday alone or only with a close friend I know I’d get along with.

2 thoughts on “Holiday Dramas and Regrets

  1. And in the center stage we always have a “drama queen” sorry to read that your holiday was not as planned. However sounds like you still had fun and some more. Not that it’s the same, but maybe you can relate to this. William and myslef find it incredible difficult to go away with other friends, family etc. we are so in our own space and find that it’s too much hassle always worrying if the other person, people are having a good time. But glad you posted again as I was as giddy as any Gay wizard could be. Ivan.

    • Glad you enjoy and still get giddy over my posts lol I love it 😊

      As for travelling, it’s all in the mentality, as I’ve travelled with other friends before and had absolutely no issues.. In fact we had brilliant times, mostly because we had similar mentalities and maturity levels. Or they were more outgoing than I am (isn’t hard really lol) which would encourage me to have more fun than I might have had otherwise.

      Anyway, the whole experience has taught me to be more circumspect regarding who I agree to travel with, and to ensure we know each quite well too. That week I kept thinking ‘I wish this or that person was here instead’, cause I knew I’d be having a better time with them.

      Maybe next time 😉

Tell me what you think:

