The Flat Disruption Issue

Standard

It’s been close to six months since I moved to my current flat, and despite a couple little structural issues, I’ve loved living there.  My flatmate and I get along really well.  It’s been relatively issue free, and any little things that have popped up we’ve just talked about them instead of letting it bother us.

It’s been great living with someone who’s just as interested in ensuring we’re both happy living there as I am.  We’re friendly without being too much into each other’s lives, give each other space as required, and are always up for a laugh or chat. We’re both gay and have a few ‘friends of friends’ in common.

And we’re both adult enough to not make a big deal if the other has someone ‘special’ over for a visit.

Well that nice little bower of life we’ve made for ourselves was shattered this past weekend when the landlord came to town and announced he’ll be working in London for the next 3 weeks.  And that he’ll be staying at the flat.

Umm.. what??  Fuuuuuuuck!

Although small, our flat is technically a 3 bedroom, with the landlord keeping a tiny room for himself.  I’d always assumed that was just to store some of his things while he lived in Switzerland, and that we were renting the rest of flat from him.

In reality, we’re just renting rooms off of him as it’s still his flat.  He’s got the room set up as a little bedroom for himself, which allows him to keep a toe-hold in London while living and working abroad.

repair leakIt be one thing if he was staying there while he did some repairs to the flat, but the very few things he’s done over the past week have been more of a band-aid measure than actual repair.  And it be completely different if he was going out of his way to not disrupt our lives.

For instance.. he’s a musician (works in theatre) and he announced when he arrived that he’d have to practice his flute here and there.  What that actually meant was he’d be practising every evening after work, regardless if we were okay with that or not.  Loudly.

It was especially frustrating Thursday evening when I’d come home from work with a bit of a headache so was laying down before I made dinner, and he started in on his flute.  It pissed me off so much that I kinda snapped at him when he came down to the kitchen later on.

He ‘says’ if it’s bothering us to just tell him, but how can you really tell your landlord to not practise his instrument when it’s his livelihood.  It’s a bit difficult to tell someone to ‘shut the fuck up’ (nicely of course) when they own where you live.  That would just be asking for trouble, if you ask me.

I know it’s only for 3 weeks, but the timing of it couldn’t have been worse for me – my flatmate goes on holidays on Tuesday for 10 days.  I was so looking forward to having the flat to myself while he was away.  The lucky bastard is going to miss most of the landlord’s ‘visit’.

So this means I’ll be stuck alone with the guy for that time.  He’s friendly enough, but it’s not the same.  There just doesn’t seem to be much in common between us from what I’ve seen so far, and his tone can come across as a bit condescending at times.

landlordOh, and I definitely don’t feel comfortable having someone over, be it to hang out or for a bit of fun (something I was hoping to do while the flatmate was away… hehe).  The landlord is clearly straight and doesn’t seem to realise we’re both gay (How?!? LOL), so am unsure how he’d react if I brought a guy home.

I’m trying my best to not let it get to me, and to obviously not become resentful towards the flatmate that he’ll be away for most of it.  He’d booked the holiday months ago so would have had no clue the landlord was coming at the same time.

I suppose I just have to grin and bear it for now.  And hope my frustrations don’t get the better of me.

Tell me what you think:

