Finding Inspiration in the Past

Standard

I had a bit of a revelation the other day when looking through some old posts, mostly back in February 2013.

Firstly, it was one of my busiest months EVER for posts – a total of 34 posted items in that month, averaging just over one a day.  Admittedly, this was during my unemployment period, so I had a lot more time on my hands to write on a regular basis.

But what truly opened my eyes wasn’t the number of posts themselves, but more the content of the posts and how varied they were. They weren’t all just about my life.. in fact, I think there was only a couple in all of those published posts.

The variety came from posts about my predictions for the upcoming Oscars ceremony (including a recount of tweets I’d sent to a friend in Canada while watching the show), movie reviews, music videos, opinion pieces, articles based on things I’d read in the news or Facebook… and a multi-part piece of fiction I’d called ‘My Name is X’.

As I scanned through the different topics and posts, it got me thinking – when did I stop posting and writing with such variety?  When did I stop seeing things online and think ‘This could make a great blog post’.

These days it seems all I do is write about things in my life – be it about my love life, work, or a recent holiday – as well as tons of ‘self-help’ articles, either original in nature or influenced by another posting I’d read somewhere else.  Neither type of post are bad in anyway, it’s just a habit I’ve gotten into over the past year or two.

Or even my recent ‘hunk of the day’ posts as a filler for not writing anything.

I’m the first to admit that my writing habits keep changing with whatever is going on in my life at the time, as well as where I’m living.  Because I don’t have a specific writing area (ie: no desk or table in my room) but do have somewhere to spent time other than in my bedroom, I find I don’t open my laptop as often.

Of course, that could just be me making excuses why my writing habits have slacked.. and maybe I really am.

But the trip through memory lane of past posts has made me realise how little I tend to read through the news these days, or be willing to post on what I think about certain topics and not just the most recent how-to article I’ve read.

In fact, my usual habit when getting home from work is lounge on the sofa to watch tv and play on my iPad.  It’s not very productive, as I could also use the iPad to create posts for the blog.

Another thing that has gotten me thinking about my writing habits is how dead it is at work while we continue to wait for things to get going…

So I’ve been using the time to work a novel I started well over a year ago and stopped for whatever reason… I’d only gotten as far as the 4th chapter in the story, but since Friday I’ve written close to 4000 words, bringing the story into the 6th chapter!

Basically what it’s shown me that in order to be more productive in my writing I just have to get on with it and actually write things.  Because the more you write, the better a writer you’ll become and the more you’ll want to write.

And if it gets me back in the swing of things (and hopefully finally finish the novel lol), then guess that means I need to get off my ass and get back on the writing horse.

Watch this space….

4 thoughts on “Finding Inspiration in the Past

  1. We all have our good blogging times and our bad ones. Write about anything that’s why we enjoy reading it. I only use my iPad to blog, give it a try for a week or so. Maybe it’s not for you. Great news on the novel. Looking forward to your posts. Ivan.

Tell me what you think:

