Change Is Good

Standard

Sometimes all we need is one little – or big – thing to change in our life for our attitudes or general over-all outlook to change.  Hopefully for the better and not for the worst.

Well as I wrote in a previous post (click HERE to read), I’d given my notice at my dreary room in middle-of-nowhere Woolwich.  I’ve been looking on and off to move for well over six months now, but was having such a hard time finding anything I liked or could afford.

Or both.

Again, as I mentioned in the aforementioned post, I’d found a new place and I couldn’t have been happier.

And now that I’ve moved in this past weekend, my outlook regarding my housing situation is most definitely on the cheery side.  A more than welcome change from the gloominess I’d been feeling back in Woolwich.

I was so excited to move to my new place that I started moving in weekend before last, and then finished things off this past weekend after painting my bedroom, something I’ve never been able to do in the past.

Did it all go without a hitch?  Well, for the most part I’d say yes.

My original idea was to paint most of the room a light grey/platinum with a feature wall in an aqua-blue type colour, but figured that might be too dark for a bedroom.  Even if the room itself is quite spacious.

20151024_194850But unfortunately that didn’t happen.  And I ended up painting the room a colour called ‘stardust’, which looked more grey with a hint of lavender in it on the can and in the shop… But once I got it one the walls, it turned out a bit more pinkish/light lavender than grey in certain lights.

But I’m not complaining, as it allowed me to put my own stamp on a my new place, and now have clean walls to decorate in whatever way I want.  Something I’m looking forward to.

As well, I think by parcelling my move over two weekends it allowed me to organise things better and reduce some of the stress that comes from moving.  I had a different friend helping me each day with the move and painting, and was able to unpack quite easily once I get everything into the new place.

And now it’s time to settle into the new place and get to know the new flatmate.  So far over the past couple days, I think I’ve spent more time hanging out and chatting to him than I did in the last year at the last place.

It definitely makes a difference when living with someone who’s interested in having an actual flatmate around, and not just renting out the spare room.

20150924_191630I’m cooking more and actually eating at the dinner table instead of in my bedroom.  I’m not hiding out in my room watching Netflix every night.. In fact, tonight was the first time I’d turned on my laptop since I moved!

So fingers crossed this new living situation continues to succeed as much as it seems to have been over the past few days.. and not have to move again anytime soon. 🙂

Now the next big thing to look forward to is my week’s holiday in Gran Canaria in a couple weeks.. all by myself.  And I can’t wait.

7 thoughts on “Change Is Good

Tell me what you think:

