Beach Daze

Brighton Beach 2
Standard

Ahhh.. the joys of living in the UK and the inconsistent weather during the summer. If you get a week or two of decent weather between June and August, you can count yourself lucky.  LOL

Ok, so that’s an exaggeration most people here tend to say about the weather. Some years are better than others obviously, and you will occasionally get a week or two of really nice weather before the dreary clouds make their way back in.

As much as we like to bitch about it, it really doesn’t rain all the time.  LOL

When we do get those rare and truly hot summer days, most of us take as much advantage of it as possible, and you’ll find most parks packed with people trying to soak in as much sunshine as they can.

This past weekend was one of those periods of truly lovely weather.  And for once I actually took advantage of the sunshine.

I’ve got a bad habit on the weekends.. Unless I’ve planned something, I tend to spent most weekends sitting at home, watching Netflix and lamenting at how dull my social life is without doing anything to change it.

And staring out the window at the sunshine, trying to get myself off my ass.

To be honest, this weekend’s frolics in the sun all started because I decided I needed a day off work to relax before my supervisor goes away on holiday for two full weeks. Which leaves me to cover the entire department, which only consists of the two of us.

So I chose to take Friday off for a long weekend, and luckily as the week progressed, the weather looked fairly decent down in Brighton.. so I used my cheeky day off work to lounge on the nude beach there.

Me on beachThis was definitely way overdue.. When my mate P & I went down for the Bear Weekend end of June, we were so disappointed by the weather.. it was cloudy and windy, leaving it way too chilly to get our bits out on the nude beach.

So this time my luck held out.  It was an absolutely gorgeous day out, with not a cloud in the sky.  And the beach was relatively busy too.. guess not many people work on Fridays when it’s nice out. LOL

I didn’t do much more than relax and enjoy the sunshine, trying not to chain smoke while I read on my Kindle and listened to music.  And yes.. I looked around a bit at the other sun-lovers, but there sadly wasn’t much eye-candy around me.

The only downside being there by myself was that I couldn’t reach parts of my back to apply sun-cream, so ended up with a bit of a burn.  But luckily it wasn’t too bad.

The next day, a friend decided to organise a group day out in London.. sunbathing near the Men’s Pond in Hampstead Heath. The pond area has showers, a changing area, toilets, a dock to swim off from, and a small nude sunbathing area just off the changing space.

We didn’t go in there though as just outside the entrance is a wide patch of grass where all the (gay) guys had their towels and blankets spread out to sunbath or have picnics, and this is where we set ourselves up.

And it was an absolutely amazing way to spend a Saturday afternoon in London.  It was sunny and hot, with a bit of a breeze, and there was lots of eye-candy around.

And some of those boys were just shameless.. got a few eyefuls as some were changing out of their swimsuits. And this wasn’t in the changing area. 😉

But mostly it was fun just hanging out, chatting, having a few laughs and some food/wine with friends.  To be away from the usual scene and just generally do something different.

All in all was a lovely, relaxing weekend.  Exactly what I needed. 🙂

Hampstead Heath

7 thoughts on “Beach Daze

  1. Sounds like you have really made the most of the fantastic weather – and to be honest the summer has been a good one. I on;y recall getting wet getting to or from work once!

Tell me what you think:

