It’s My Blog-iversary!

Standard

It can be amazing how quickly time can fly, and you don’t realise when you’ve hit certain milestones.

In my case, it wasn’t until I logged into WordPress today (14-Dec-2014) that I realised that it was my anniversary writing on this blog – 6 years ago today, I took the plunge and created this site on the recommendation of a work colleague, who used to have a cycling blog on here.

I’d originally created the site as a way to document my travels and settling into life in London, as I’d just moved here a few months prior (4-Sept-2008 to be exact).  And I thought this would be a great way to keep my friends and family back home up to date on how things were going, while also having a platform to showcase some of my writing.

At that time, I never for once considered that I’d keep it going this long, or that I’d write about the various topics I have over the years – love, sex, life-coaching articles, dating, depression, marriage equality, politics, film/book reviews, and probably a couple dozen other things.

It’s been quite the ride, and it’s allowed me to have a little voice in the vastness of the internet while meeting some amazing people over the years through comments and visits from other bloggers.

It’s also helped me work through personal issues over the years, as writing about my feelings can be very therapeutic, while hopefully being able to give a little bit of advise to others in the same/similar situations.

As well, it’s helped give me some confidence in my writing itself, even if I haven’t been doing it as much as I’d like to lately.  Just in the past year alone, I started two different books – a fantasy novel with a gay twist, and an e-book compiling some of the self-help articles I’ve posted here over the years (albeit, both of them are gathering virtual dust…).

In the end though, is my life where I want it to be?  Of course not.

I still don’t have much of a career, especially after the redundancy a couple years back.  I’m still single and overly obsessed with the lack of action (pardon the pun lol) in my dating life.  I’m still renting a room in someone else’s home, despite wanting a place of my own (too expensive in London..).

I could go on and on about where my life ISN’T right now, but that’s not why we’re here today.

Roller Coaster Great RideInstead, I want to celebrate where I am currently and how far I’ve come over the past 6 years.  Looking at the stats on here, over the past 6 years I’ve had just over 61,000 hits!!!  Talk about amazing! 😀

Other than the stats, it’s more about how I’ve created this safe space for myself to tell my tales, talk through my woes, try to motivate myself (and hopefully others) to be a better ME, and generally have this one spot on the net that is solely mine.

And to have people like yourselves, who take the time to read what I write, leave comments and likes, and sometimes even give me advice or words of wisdom of your own.

bigbang-6th-anniversaryAnd I thank each and every one of you for every single comment, like, share, and so forth you’ve given me over the years.  At times it’s helped me continue writing when I thought about giving up and closing this site.

So.. what now?  Where will the next year (or 6) lead me and this site?  Who knows, but here’s hoping it’s a fun and exciting ride that we can take together.

Love, Mx

 

11 thoughts on “It’s My Blog-iversary!

  1. Happy blog-iversary! And thanks for keeping it up! I always enjoy reading your posts. I’m glad you can look back on this success and be proud of yourself. You definitely deserve to 🙂

  2. aguywithoutboxers

    Naked congratulations on a job well done, Martin! Best wishes and here’s to another six years! Thanks for all that you’ve shared with us and keep on rolling, buddy! Much love and naked hugs! 🙂

  3. Congratulations and I have to admit that I am one our fans. When I see a new post I am all giddy with delight, as if I was a gay wizard in Harry Potter. I must admire that when I first starting blogging I never imagined the response and ultimate satisfaction of posting a blog. Your blog always gets me thinking, it’s honest with no bullshit, no holds barred, you tell it like you see it. Now let’s hope Santa has a sticking filled with dates, and dreams do come true. Ivan

Tell me what you think:

