Kiss My Patella

Standard

As mentioned in recent posts, I’ve been struggling with ongoing knee pain (the patella, which is the kneecap), which has made life extremely unpleasant and uncomfortable.

Basically what the doctors seem to think I suffer from is patellofemoral pain, which is pain in, around and behind the kneecap.  Most of the time when the pain flares up, it can feel like the kneecap itself is grinding or grating against another bone along with a bit of swelling around the knee itself.

Put it this way – it ain’t a fun feeling to have, especially when it makes it extremely difficult to do pretty much any day-to-day thing, like walking, going up/down stairs, sleeping (can’t get the leg in a comfortable, non-pain inducing position), and sometimes even sitting.

Luckily (I think) this has been the worse flare up I’ve ever had. Usually it only lasts a couple days then it’s back to normal.

Unfortunately, it’s been ongoing for about a month now, some days better than others, with only mild pain over the past week or so. It’s so mild at the moment that I’ve stopped the pain/anti-inflammatory medication and cream.

Today though could be a turning point of sorts – I finally had the MRI scan the doctor recommended (agonisingly sad how long you have to wait for an appointment).

This was the first time I’d ever had such a scan, so I was understandably nervous about it. Even after reading up about them and knowing there was nothing to be afraid of really.

Luckily when they put me into the machine my head was sticking out. I’m not claustrophobic but the idea of being inside the machine completely didn’t seem pleasant.

What I did find interesting is how I was trying so hard to not move at all, the technician admonished me after the first set of scans for moving too much… I hadn’t moved a muscle!!

Guess it goes to show how much we fidget when we don’t think we are. Or maybe they’re overly picky and expect people to be like a statue. Lol

Anyway now I get to wait up to 2 weeks for the results and hopefully find out what’s actually causing the pain. And whether they’ll recommend a course of action other than simply losing weight/eating right/exercising.

Cause we all know that’s always a doctor’s first recommendation, regardless of the problem.. Even if it might be partially true. 😉

For more information about Patellofemoral pain, click the link here –>> Patellofemoral pain

2 thoughts on “Kiss My Patella

  1. I read this and could just imagine the pain. Not that I have had the same. My worst was when I broke a rib just before we moved into this house. Anyway I am glad that this is now over and the next two weeks are not endless in time. I hope that you are going to have a good weekend. Ivan.

Tell me what you think:

