Need to get organised

Standard

There are so many half-finished projects that I want to complete, but for whatever reason I haven’t really been fussed about getting off my ass (and putting away the Kindle or iPad) to get working on them or getting myself organised to finish them off.

Things_to_do_476x290But at the same time I’m a bit frustrated with myself that I haven’t pushed myself to compete any of them.  I never been the most driven of people, but even this has been really lazy for me.

Other than the regular writing I try to do here on this blog, I’ve also started a couple side writing projects that were moving along quite well until I just stopped opening them up or working on them – a series of travel-based erotic M2M short stories, my novel, and submitting articles/ideas to magazines for publication.

The other big thing I started ages ago and totally left to the side-line when I focused on finding work last year was my studies toward certification in Project Management.  I’d initially started the course in September 2012 (!?!) and was getting through the main course work fairly well, but then set it aside once I realised getting a job NOW was more important than completing a course I couldn’t afford to take the exam for.

But I suppose now that things aren’t as hectic with job hunting, moving houses, and trying to find a social/love life (that search will continue no matter what lol), maybe it’s time to get myself organised and set myself up a schedule for completing some of these projects, as well as continuing going to the gym.  Especially since I am paying for the course itself.

It’s not easy trying to get your mindset back into studying mode, especially when it’s been out of it for so long.  But I need to do it, even if it feels daunting to get back into the habit again.

Even if I don’t get a job in that field once I get the certification, at least I’d have completed it and would have that additional skill set for when I am looking for new jobs.

But at well I’d also have that feeling of accomplishment, because I finished it on my own.  That I drove myself to do this thing that could potentially change my life and career.

Now just to get off my ass and get started.. again.  😀

main wavebreakmedia ltd shutterstock_85474510

8 thoughts on “Need to get organised

  1. The Howling Fantogs

    I know exactly how you feel. For me though it’s time. I have so many projects like you, but with working full time never get to complete them. It’s so infuriating.

    • Yeah the whole working full time thing gets me as well, as most days after work all I want to do is come home and chill.. but need to make more of an effort to get things done.

  2. I am going to be a real pain in the arse here and say I managed to get an MBA through the OU in my own time while working full-time, ie far more than 40 hours a week. Sometimes finishing work at midnight and starting again at 8am. Essays were often finished after midnight to be dropped off at the late post. You CAN do it. Just look at someone who is where you want to be, and say, I can do that.

    • Be a pain all you want! That’s an amazing accomplishment. 😀 I know I can do it, it’s just a matter of gearing myself up to get things organised and focus on the milestones instead of the end result. I’m getting there, slowly but surely. 😀

    • Well I work full time and the studying is in my spare time online, just need to set myself some goals, priorities, and get on with it. Thanks for stopping by! 😀

  3. aguywithoutboxers

    Always remember, my blogging buddy, that it’s never too late to get “back-on-track.” You’re moving in the right direction! Much love and naked hugs! 🙂

    • Thanks Roger! That’s the whole point, getting myself moving in the direction I want to be headed.. and keeping myself focused as well. Sending you naked hugs back 😀

Tell me what you think:

