A Chance to be Social.. For Once

Standard

20140511-150842.jpg

Lately I’ve been a bit of a shut-in, mostly due to finances. I’ve spent most of the past several weekends at home, watching movies by myself, and ultimately being bored.

It’s never easy to have a social life when you’re on a shoestring budget, and it’s even harder when there doesn’t seem to be many people around to hang out with.

I’ve realised recently that most of the few London friends I hang out with somewhat regularly (as in seeing them more than once every 3 to 6 months lol) are coupled up. And being a single guy hanging out with couples all the time can get quite tiresome.

In other words, it makes me feel like a third wheel, which is never a good feeling.

Despite this, I accepted an invitation from an Italian mate and his partner to go to their place in Coggeshall near Colchester, as they were having a few people over for a Eurovision BBQ. I’ve been to their place several times before, and it’s a lovely quiet little village, and it’s always nice to get away from the city. In fact, it’s where I spent/celebrated my 40th birthday last year.

(For anyone who’s not aware, Eurovision is an annual singing contest where people across Europe get to vote for their favourite, but not for their own country. It’s fun, cheesy and camp as hell, but always entertaining.. Think X-Factor on a much bigger scale, and better lol)

In the end there were about a dozen of us, including their straight lodger and his friend. We had loads of food, plenty of drinks, and lots of laughs as we watched the telecast via BBC iPlayer .. And every time it stopped to buffer, we all had to take a drink. Lol Luckily it didn’t buffer too much.

As a fairly introverted person who’s shy around new people, it took me a bit to relax and open myself to interacting with these strangers (and before you ask, no there wasn’t anyone cute.. dammit lol). Once I did, it was fun and a laugh, and makes me glad I agreed to come for the party.

Of course the one act everyone seemed to be cheering on was Conchita Wurst from Austria, a bearded drag-queen/performer who went on to win the contest itself. It’s an amazing song (check the video below) that could easily be used as a Bond theme song.

And let’s be honest, she gives great face.

20140511-150852.jpg

Anyway here’s hoping I can find other fun (and cheap) things to do that’ll get me out of the house and be social.. Cause I definitely don’t want to become a hermit.

Much 😉

Tell me what you think:

