Taking the Plunge

Standard

So.  After years of debating the idea, thinking it over, consulting my budget, and checking out websites, I have finally done it… I joined the gym.  😉

10-things-you-re-wasting-time-on-at-the-gym-1071855-OneByOneThe last time I’d had a gym membership was probably about 15 years ago back in a different time and a different place in my life.  I’d joined the gym down the street from the restaurant I was working at with a couple of friends, in the hope we’d motivate each other to go.  However, after a month I think I was the only one still going, and I only lasted a couple months myself before cancelling my membership.

So, now why have I suddenly got off my ass and joined the gym now after all of these years?

I’ve been telling myself for several years now that I was going to join the gym, especially when I was unemployed as that would give me something to do everyday, and would help increase my energy/endorphin levels.. and let’s be honest, probably would have helped me battle through the depression I’d gone through at the time.

And of course, my doctor has not-so-subtly suggested it on more than one occasion over the years as well.  Perhaps it was time I actually listened instead of trying to brush it off as something they say to anyone who’s a bit overweight.

I’ve decided that this is not about getting fit, though that would be great side effect.  It’s more about being and feeling healthier.  It has nothing to do with trying to change the way I look to find a boyfriend or more dates, or even to check out any cuties in the locker room (that’s a bonus, and possibly a story for another day hehehe).

Over the last six months or so, I’ve been regularly sick and feeling like crap despite trying to watch my diet (within reason) and making sure I eat my fruits and veggies.  I’ve gained even more weight (seems like that’s all I’ve done since moving to London..) and would like to lose it, but mostly I’m tired all the time and feel like I have no energy to do anything.  Which leads me to spending way too much time lazing on the sofa when I’m not at work…

sb10063469u-001I considered going to the budget gym near work as some of my coworkers go there, but instead chose to go to the Fitness First in Brixton, as a friend of mine goes there.  The hope is we’ll motivate each other to go more often since it’s on each of our ways home from work.

But at the same time, I need to make sure I motivate myself.

A couple weeks ago on Good Friday, I went with him as a guest to check the place out and see what it was like.  It’s not a huge gym by any means, but it seems clean enough, isn’t too crowded, and like I said, is part way between work and home (closer to work than home, but easy to get to from home).

So I tossed the idea around for a couple of weeks, and even went so far to look up whether my work’s health plan gives a discount (it does, but I found today it’s only for multi-site memberships.. which wasn’t mentioned on the website grrrr), and made a decision..

And off I went this afternoon to set up a membership.  I was initially thinking of just doing a 1 month membership to test out the waters, but in the end it was more expensive to do it that way.  So instead I went with a 4 month single-site membership (there’s no other locations nearby that I’d go to anyway), and had my first workout this afternoon.

Treadmills_at_gymOn both visits, I mostly stuck to the cardio machines – treadmill, stationary bike, and elliptical cross-trainer – and stayed clear of the weights area.. I don’t know why, but venturing into that part of the gym with all the muscle boys around kind of intimidates me for some reason.

I found out afterwards when chatting to my mate, I should have been given some kind of personal trainer session where they set a workout plan for me, but nothing was mentioned about it.  That could be because I paid the fees and wanted to go right in to work out.. maybe the next time I go they’ll do that.  And I’ll have to remember to ask as well.

And if it’s something I would have to pay extra for, then no bother.. I’m not looking to get ripped or defined in any sense, so just going to go and enjoy the facilities.

And maybe catch a little eye-candy in the locker room as well.  😉

8 thoughts on “Taking the Plunge

Tell me what you think:

