The Body Beautiful

Standard

Hmmm.. the body beautiful.  Yes, this guy is absolutely gorgeous, but is he really beautiful?

Do his rock-hard abs, pumped up arms and oh so sexy waist truly make him more desirable as a person?  Does this picture make me want to get to know him more as a person?

lee-kholafai-by-rick-day-1

No on both accounts.  If anything it makes me wonder why he’s sitting like that on the bed with his shorts half off his ass.. and holding a rugby ball?  That can’t be comfortable, right?  Lol

Now, I wouldn’t turn him down if he asked me out, but why would he?  This picture of a gorgeous muscular man isn’t reality for the vast majority of the guys out there.  He isn’t someone you’d meet on the tube, standing in line at your local Tesco’s, or even beside you at the bar.

(oh wait, can he drink?.. wouldn’t that throw his carb intake off-balance 😉 )

This is the media’s idea of what a man should look like.. more specifically, what a gay man should look like.

And we’ve all fallen for it.

Some may say that’s just me being jealous because he’s got what looks like an 8-pack.. and I’m constantly pulling my t-shirts down to cover what looks like an overflowing keg.

And you know what?  They’d probably be right.. partially.

Sure I totally wish I could look like him, but I know it’ll never happen.  So why should I feel bad because I look more like Fred Flintstone? I shouldn’t, and neither should you.

(ok.. maybe more I’m more like Barney Rubble without the hair.. I am a short little bald guy after all lol)

Ok .. I’ll admit it .. guys like this do exist.  I know because I see them jogging past me as I’m strolling along enjoying a cigarette.  Or they’re dancing their asses off on the dance floor all night as I stand at the bar having another pint.

My point is, guys like this spend every waking moment of their lives working harder and harder to look like this.. and usually miss out on enjoying what life has to offer.

Or at least that’s the way it looks to me anyway.  I could be wrong and be looking at it in too simplistic of a way… maybe having abs of steel makes living life so much easier somehow.. or makes sex much more enjoyable.

Oh wait.. it doesn’t?  Then what’s the fucking point!? lol

Now before all you body-fascists start screaming down the internet at me (is that even possible?), let me clarify a few things:

  1. Yes, I do need to stop smoking – it’s a filthy habit, but it just sucks that I enjoy it oohh so much.
  2. Yes, I eat too much – what can I say, I love food!  But I know I do need to make healthier eating choices, and I do try wherever possible.
  3. And yes, I do need to get more exercise – I’m a lazy git who’d rather sit at a computer and bitch about hot, sexy, fit guys than go to the gym. But I definitely need to start doing something.. there’s a reason my back hurts more and more, and it’s not because I pulled it doing some amazingly acrobatic move in bed with your boyfriend last night. 😉

I think as a whole we should all take better care of ourselves, but in no way, shape or form should we be depriving ourselves of enjoying what life has to offer.  We just should be more circumspect when we give ourselves a treat.

But anyway, what do I know..  you enjoy running another lap around London.

I’ll be here waiting, watching a movie and enjoying some Ben & Jerry’s. 😉

8 thoughts on “The Body Beautiful

  1. The Howling Fantogs

    I’m with you. I like my food way too much to ever look like that. I wouldn’t be happy if I had to do what it takes to do it. I do enjoy certain things such as running, swimming and climbing, but they are hobbies. They don’t doninate my life. Life’s too short.

  2. I was body obsessed in my 20’s. But after I stopped going to clubs, it stopped making sense.
    The sensation of having people attracted to one’s self is exhilarating, particularly when one is a young gay guy. As time goes by our priorities change.
    Now I derive more pleasure from relaxing on the sofa than making ‘an entrance’ at a club. I don’t regret it, though. I had an obscene amount of fun, literally 😉

    • Haha yeah didn’t we all. My late 20’s are a bit of a blur but it was fun. And let’s be honest – that exhilaration when someone is attracted to you never really goes away, you just don’t go out of your way to find that feeling as you get older. Rather curl up with a book lol

  3. aguywithoutboxers

    I think that’s the reason we refer to some men as “eye candy.” Nice to look at, nice to fantasize over, well…just nice and desirable. Do I want a relationship with one? Not unless he has integrity, character, compassion and a mind of his own (who also knows how to think).

    I quite happy with the man that I’m with. I’ve posted photos of him on my blog and we know he looks nothing like the rugby guy on the bed.

    Do I want a one-night-romp with rugby guy? Maybe. As long as he doesn’t spend the entire time looking at himself in the mirror.

    Great post, my blogging buddy! Much love and naked hugs! 🙂

    • Funnily enough I did have a romp or two with a guy ages ago who couldn’t keep his eyes off the mirror.. But that was more so he could watch as we played. Lol

      Thanks for the compliments.. however this is actually a repost from 2 years ago! Lol Just felt it was due for a re-issue 🙂

  4. He is good looking without a doubt, ie facially. If he wasn’t so over-developed he would have a nice body too. Can’t bear gym type bodies, vile. Can’t bear vain men either obsessed with their own appearance, straight or gay. Same goes for women too. (note to self, jump in the shower and wash your greasy hair)

    • LOL Yeah a shower is always good (note to self…oh, and a shave too) I agree, the overly vain get on my nerves too. Especially those who can’t seem to just enjoy what’s going on around them without thinking how it’s going to affect their diet or their next workout. Just live, dammit, and be a real person like the rest of is. 😀

Tell me what you think:

