Burst of Sunshine.. and Creativity

Standard

spring-meets-dc-and-i-meet-the-1980s

So today was finally the first truly sunny WARM day we’ve had here in London in what feels like an eternity.  Watching how everyone was so excited for the weekend to get here so they could spend some time out in the sun was fun, and was getting me thinking of how I was going to spend the day.

After sleeping in, of course. LOL

I thought about getting myself all set up in the back garden with my Kindle and a nice cup of coffee to relax in the sun.  Or to head into Crystal Palace Park to wander around the dinosaurs and relax in the sun.

Well all those loosely laid plans went flying out the window.. as I woke up at 7:30am this morning with an idea for a story that had been bouncing around my subconscious for about a week now.  The strength of the idea and how quickly I started to flush out the first few scenes in my mind kept me out of bed and racing for the laptop.

So there I was at 8am this morning with a bug mug of coffee at my elbow and a load of laundry on the go downstairs, I started to write.

And write.

And write.

And put in a second load of laundry.

And write.

Next thing I knew it was noon when a mate messaged me to see what I was up to… and I’d written close to 2000 words.

Colour me shocked! I haven’t written like that in so long, especially not fiction.

So I took a break to make myself a late breakfast, and to maybe sketch out some further story ideas in a notepad while sitting in the back garden.

And I did for a bit.. before I suddenly started writing a lot of the backstory for something I’d only briefly considered adding into the story.

Another cup of coffee and a couple cigarettes later, I was back upstairs at the laptop typing out character descriptions, more backstory and a preface that described tons of history in this new world I’d suddenly created before heading back to the main story.. And that’s when I realised I was finishing off chapter two.

When I’d originally sat down this morning I didn’t think I was starting a novel, but more just a short story to add to those I’ve written before.

This was only the second time I’ve attempted to write a full fledged novel, with the first being the now lost manuscript I’d spent a load of time writing and editing while living in Montreal, even if I wasn’t a hundred percent happy with the end product.  It was still my baby, and I still regret losing it.. though haven’t completely lost hope yet.  It’s got to be somewhere in the ether of the net.

Or maybe it’s on that old floppy disk I have no way of accessing anymore.  Hmmm…

Anyway, I’m excited to see where it might lead me, even if I have other things I want to focus my writing on (See recent post regarding possible article submissions to a gay magazine).

And despite missing out on a load of the sunshine today, I feel good about the day and how productive I’ve been.

Now to just keep the momentum going.

writing-outside

5 thoughts on “Burst of Sunshine.. and Creativity

    • It’s a fantasy story set in medieval times about a young man who escapes his father’s abuse to find his true destiny and abilities.. haven’t decided yet if there’ll be a love story element in it as well, where he finds his prince charming, but we’ll see. 😀

Tell me what you think:

