You Lazy Bugger ;-)

Standard

Sometimes I swear if you looked up the definition of ‘Lazy’ in the dictionary, you just might find my picture beside it.  le2tI am so good at putting things off that sometimes they just never get done.

Oh wait, is that being lazy or is that being a procrastinator?

Let’s be honest, we all enjoy a bit of lazy ‘me’ time.  Time where you sit around, do nothing, watch crap on TV, eat bad food, and just vegetate.  It can be absolutely relaxing and sometimes just what you need to refresh.  A lot of people these days spend so much time rushing from place to place that they don’t have time to relax and just enjoy life.

Who says it’s a bad thing to spend an evening curled up on the couch watching a movie or reading a book.  Or even playing silly (but fun) games on your iPad.

Personally I think it’s a good thing to have time to relax and recharge… as long as you don’t overdue and you move from enjoying a nice lazy day, to spending all your free time propped on the sofa with the remote in your hand, telling yourself you’ll start that project tomorrow, or you could always do the ironing on the weekend, or any other such things that allows you to stay exactly where you are, being lazy.how-to-reform-a-lazy-boyfriend

And there’s where it becomes procrastination, at least it does for me.  For several months now, I’ve had a few projects I’ve wanted to get going on but literally just haven’t started.  Instead I spend most evenings sitting on the sofa with some American sitcoms on the TV (yay for repeats of The Big Bang Theory lol) while playing on my mobile or iPad.

Not exactly being productive, am I?  What should I be doing instead?

Well for starters, I could be using that time to write more on this blog, start that erotic series of short stories I’ve been thinking about, start another novel (since I can’t seem to get my old one back from the pit that was my old laptop.. dammit, why didn’t I back it up years ago when I wrote it??), or a dozen other ideas I have for stories banging around my head.  I keep saying I want to write more, so that means I should do just that.

As well, I need to get off my ass and complete that Project Management certification course I started last year.  project-management-for-the-rest-of-usFor quite awhile I seemed to be going through it fairly quickly, but then I literally put it aside as I concentrated on my job hunt.  Figured it was better to have a job that paid the bills (almost) than being out on the street still trying to complete that course.

And yes, I need to get off my ass and out of the house if I’m ever going to find a boyfriend.  There’s an extremely rare super-slim chance of ever meeting him (whomever he is) by sitting at home doing nothing.  Lord knows I’m not meeting anyone interesting off the apps these days, especially since there doesn’t seem to be many interesting guys living in my area (or at least, they’re not single or trolling for sex on the apps I’m using lol).

So… what am I going to do?  How am I going to get myself out of this rut?

I’m sure I could spend an evening setting up a writing and studying schedule for the next month or two, and I keep telling myself that’s exactly what I need to do..

Except I got lazy and decided to watch telly and play Candy Crush instead … Hmmm, maybe I’ll do it tomorrow.  😉

procrastination6

3 thoughts on “You Lazy Bugger ;-)

Tell me what you think:

