Mobile Dependency

Standard

I’m not sure if it’s just me or maybe I’m just being lazy, but it feels like it’s harder and harder to meet people these days.  I don’t just mean for dates or even sex (*gasp*), but also to meet people for friendships.

One thing I’ve noticed over the past several years is that people don’t seem to be willing to talk to people they don’t already know anymore.. at least not in person.WomanTalkingonPhone-660x427

With the advent of the smartphones and all the different chatting/dating apps, more and more it seems that people are more willing to chat to anonymous people online than actually approach people in person, say at a pub or cafe.

I know for me personally I’ve always been a fairly shy person, especially when it comes to chatting up some cute stranger when out and about.  In fact when I do see someone I find attractive or interesting, I won’t do anything more than eye them up.

But it’s more than just about my shyness.  It’s also about how it seems whenever you go out anywhere these days people are glued to their mobiles, regardless of if they’re out with friends or not.

Makes me wonder how they got those friends to begin with if they’re constantly looking at their mobiles, be it on Facebook, or some chatting app like Growlr, Scruff or Grindr.  Is that truly spending quality time together?

Of course, I’m just as guilty of it as anyone else, especially if I’m out on my own.  I’m more likely to check my mobile to see who’s around while looking around the pub or wherever to see if I recognise anyone from the apps.

Sad huh?  😉

mobile to forehead

2 thoughts on “Mobile Dependency

  1. Not a fan of mobile and being proud that I have never texted in my life, I think you have hit the nail on the head with this one. People think this device has improved communication, when in truth it has nearly annihilated it. People in social situations ignore those they are out with to share a meal or a drink by texting and posting on social media. Sad, sad commentary on our society. Great post. Smile and say hello the next time you see a cute man who catches your eye. It most times works-even today.

Tell me what you think:

