11 Things You Should Never Regret

Standard

As a society, we all tend to look back on our lives and wish there were things we’d done differently.  Or at least that there were things we’d done that we never got a chance to.no-regrets

I recently found this article on another blogsite that lists the 20 things you should never regret not doing.. in your 20’s.

Click here for the original article

I’m not saying doing all these things with complete you or truly make you happy or that they should only be done while you’re still young.  But it should help move you towards that, and help ensure you don’t regret missing out on things once you truly get older.

Here’s my take on the ‘Things You Should Never Regret‘.. regardless of your age.  I’ve pared it down to 11 items, as I feel these are the most important.. but please feel free to click the hyperlink above to see the original author’s article.

1. Not Telling Them You Love Them

We all have people in our lives that we care for and hold dear to our hearts.  But how often do you tell them how you feel?  Or is it just something you take for granted that they already know?

Don’t wait until it’s too late to let someone know you care about or love them.  Tell them now, today, right this second.. don’t worry, this page will still be here once you’ve done it. 😉

2. Not Saying Hello

Now this is something I’m definitely bad at, and always regret not doing.  I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve seen some cute guy at a pub and wish I had the balls to go up and just say ‘Hi’.  Instead I stay back, watch them (I’m not a stalker, honest!), hope they notice me, and eventually come up and say hello.

The whole point is you just never know who that person might be and how they may affect your life, be it romantically or professionally.  Or maybe they’ll be your new BFF.

3. Quitting/Not Finishing What You Started

I suppose it (should) go without saying that you need to do your best at whatever you’re doing so you don’t look back and wish you’d tried harder.  We all want to succeed in life, and the only true way to do that is to try your hardest to be the best at what you do.Winston-Churchill-Quote-1

Quitting should only be an option when you’ve explored all other possible options and then some.  Even if you’re in a bad situation (like I was last/this year with my extended hunt for a new job), there is always a way out if you have enough determination and drive.  You don’t want to end up regretting that you quit because you were lazy or looking for an excuse to stop what you’re doing.

And we all have things we regret that we never finished, I know I do.  Some could be that almost-completed novel that’s now lost due to my old laptop dying and my not backing it up, or that project management course I started last year and have now had to pay extra money in the hopes that I’ll complete it this year.

Or maybe it’s all those half-written blog posts I’ve got waiting for me to complete.. whatever it is for you, don’t put it off.  Complete it, finish it off, and do something with it.. and if you’re not going to do anything with it, then why start in the first place?

4. Moving Too Quickly/Not Quick Enough

How often have we seen or heard of people who’ve moved in with each other after a couple dates?  What’s happened to dating for awhile, while maintaining your own homes, in order to ensure you’re truly compatible?

Too often, especially in the parts of the London gay scene I see/hear about, people tend to hop from one lover to another faster than most people change their socks, and before you can process that their last relationship has ended, they’re shacking up with someone new they met last Saturday night at the clubs… And they wonder why it ends a couple months later.

On the flip-side, there are those out there who wait and wait and wait.. until one or both get bored to tears.  It could be someone is playing games or is a complete commitment-phobe and isn’t doing anything to show that special someone that they mean a lot to them.  Or maybe they’re just together for the sake of being in a relationship and are afraid to move on.

Easiest way to lose that so-called ‘special someone’ I suppose.

5. Snoozing

Naked man sleepingWhat’s wrong with a little nap here and there?  I suppose what the original author is saying is that we shouldn’t waste our life by hitting the snooze button and putting off for later what can be done now.

Or maybe they’re just a morning person.  lol

6. Not Seeing The World

This is something I was totally guilty of up until I moved to London back in 2008.  Until then I’d never gone on a holiday, traveled, or even been on an airplane.  I still haven’t done a ton of traveling since I moved here, but I’ve done some.. and have loved every moment of it.6575_going_home

Now days I couldn’t imagine a life without some kind of travel somewhere.. and I actually get that travel-bug every few months now.  I’ve said it before, I’d love to take an extended weekend somewhere about now, even if I can’t afford to go anywhere at the moment.

The point is, it’s never too late or too early to explore the world around you.  Don’t be one of those who say ‘I’ll travel when I retire’, because you just never know what your life will be like then and whether you’ll even be able to travel.  Go now!

7. Not Allowing Yourself To Fall In Love

Even the most heart-hardened among us wants to find love, to love and be loved.  Sure, it can be hard when you’ve done through life with a repeatedly broken heart, but you can’t give up on the single most beautiful experience known to man.. or so I’ve been told. 😉

tumblr_ltldaucaig1qmbumto1_500

8. Not Believing In Yourself

Self-belief is probably the hardest thing to help someone with.  Nobody else can believe in you enough to help you make things happen, only you can.  We each have the ability to create the life we’ve always wanted and move our lives in the direction of our dreams.

If you can dream it, you can do it.

9. Not Having Children

This is something I don’t completely agree with the original author about… Just because our bodies are born to reproduce, it doesn’t necessarily mean we should.  Not everyone is meant to be a parent, and not everyone wants to be one either.

I know for me personally, I’ve never wanted children of my own.  I enjoy other people’s children and I’m happy for those who feel fulfilled by starting a family, but it doesn’t mean I should start one as well.

It may seem selfish of me not wanting kids, but it’s my life in the end.. and nobody should be made to feel bad about themselves because they don’t want kids.

10. Focusing On The Unimportant/Prioritizing Improperly

Ahhh, the joys of stressing over the little things in life.  We all do it, even when we think we’re not.  But the key is to ensure you understand what is truly important in your life and prioritise those things.  If you can deal with the truly big things in life, then the little problems will be a breeze and possibly just fade away without you needing to focus on them.

11. Dreaming Too Small

What’s wrong with dreaming big?  You just never know when you’re reaching for the stars what you might actually get in return.

aimhigherNever in a million years did I ever think I would end up living in London, one of the biggest and most historic cities in the world.  Sure I’d always dreamed of moving to Europe to live, but I never did anything about it up until 6 or 7 years ago.  Instead I would listen to other people’s stories of their travels and quietly be jealous that they’ve gotten to do what I’d always wanted to.

Has everything been an absolute dream and gone smoothly in my life after moving here?  Of course not, but if I hadn’t done it I would have been regretting missing out on the opportunity to move to another country/culture and I wouldn’t have met some of the most interesting people in my life, some of whom I couldn’t imagine my life without now.

Aim for the stars, reach as high as you can.. even if you don’t make it all the way to the top, you’re still a lot further along than those who only tried to reach halfway.  It’s your life, live it the way you want to.

17375-No-Regrets-Just-Love

4 thoughts on “11 Things You Should Never Regret

  1. aguywithoutboxers

    Thank you for sharing not only the original posting but your eleven priorities as well! This is appropriate and important for every generation! Great job, my friend! Much love and naked hugs! 🙂

  2. Excellent post sir, firstly I like and like again the pic of the sleeping man. Okay so I am allowed to look.

    Some very important lessons here for us all. I am facing the decision to quit or say I did my best. Will I regret if I quit, YES. however maybe it makes me more comfortable with myself and my limitations and setting boundaries. On travel, I can relate and agree. We off for the holidays to a place we both have not been too. And I am a bad flyer, so William is planning on ensuring I take a chill pill or two.

    Just a thought, do you see the world in more wise, calmer way than when you were younger. Wisdom comes with age, and in no way am I saying this in a disrespectful way.

    Hope all good with you. Ivan

    • I don’t know if I see things in a calmer way now or not, but I definitely see more of the world around me and am not ensconced in a bubble like I think I was when younger (some say naive, I say clueless hahaha). I do know I try my best to take a more calmer view of the world these days.. doesn’t always work, but I try my best. lol

      One thing I will say about my younger self is I don’t think I had enough confidence in myself in order to go live the life I wanted to live (ie: move to Europe, travel by myself, etc).. but this definitely came with time as I saw more of the world around me.

      And yeah.. that pic of the sleeping man was just too good not to post in some way.. hehe Enjoy your upcoming holidays! Look forward to hearing all about it.

      Mxx

Tell me what you think:

