Getting to Know the Neighborhood

Standard

Now that I’m basically settled into my new place, I felt it was time to get to know the area and see where things are.

Of course that meant lots of walking, as the immediate area around my new place is completely residential.  In fact the closest shop is about a 10 minute walk away.

At least that means I’ll be getting a bit of exercise anytime I want to go pick something up or grab a bite to eat instead of cooking.  Or maybe it just means I’ll be more likely to pick groceries up on my way home.  We’ll see how that goes, since there’s no shops on my way back from the train station I’d be using.

So this past Sunday, once I’d organised a few more things around the place, I decided to go walk around the area and see where things were.  I’d already found the local Sainsbury’s on Saturday, as I wasn’t going to have take away 2 days in a row.

So after walking down to the main high street in Crystal Palace, I decided to go walk around the park.  Damn, I didn’t realise how big it was.  LOL

01092013 11401092013 11601092013 126

The park is huge and gorgeous!  And has lots to look at besides the beautiful foliage.

For instance, there’s the dinosaurs..

01092013 121 01092013 120 01092013 119

The Crystal Palace Dinosaurs, also known as Dinosaur Court, are a series of sculptures of dinosaurs and extinct mammals located in Crystal Palace, London. Commissioned in 1852 and unveiled in 1854, they were the first dinosaur sculptures in the world, pre-dating the publication of Charles Darwin’sOn the Origin of Species by six years. Designed and sculpted by Benjamin Waterhouse Hawkins with the help of Richard Owen,[1] they were Grade II listed buildings from 1973, extensively restored in 2002 and upgraded to Grade I listed in 2007. (Source: Wikipedia)

On top of that, there’s also the ‘maze’ in the middle of the park.

01092013 125 01092013 124 01092013 123

This maze originally dates from about 1870 is one of the largest mazes in the country. In its heyday it was a popular place for a stroll after tea, it is sometimes known as the tea maze. after falling into disrepair it was planted in 1987 by the London Borough of Bromley. In 1909 during a Boy Scout rally held in the park a group of girls approached Robert Baden Powell to demand the formation of a similar movement for girls. Baden Powell shortly afterwards published a scheme for girl guides. 6000 girls joined when the organisations founded in 1910. —Inscription in the park by the maze

Of course I just had to wander the maze.  I’d never been in one, and despite it not looking that big from the outside, it took me a good 15 minutes or so to get to the centre.. and yes, I did take a few wrong turns.  🙂

All in all it was a nice day out walking around the area and finding my way around the park.

01092013 127 01092013 126 01092013 122
3 thoughts on “Getting to Know the Neighborhood

Tell me what you think:

