Loving You – Matt Cardle & Mel C

Standard

I was surfing around Digital Spy last night looking at the entertainment ‘news’ stories, and found the below video from X-Factor UK winner Matt Cardle with ex-Spice Girl Mel C.

matt-cardle2To be honest, I wasn’t expecting too much from it since I hadn’t been impressed with anything Cardle had released since winning the show back in 2010.  His winner’s single, a cover version of Scottish rock trio Biffy Clyro‘s “Many of Horror” retitled as “When We Collide“, topped the UK Singles Chart to become the 2010 Christmas number 1 and remained there for three consecutive weeks.  His 2011 debut album Letters reached number 2 in the UK and Irish charts, with his follow up The Fire a year later only reaching number 8 in the UK, and 14 in Ireland. (source: Wikipedia)

I suppose that’s a decent enough start to his career, but nothing spectacular and none of the songs were exactly that catchy.

And despite me liking Mel C and her voice, she hasn’t exactly had much commercial success in the past few years, so I was thinking this could possibly be two sinking ships desperately trying to cling to each other.Melanie C

Well cling to each they do (literally, in the video).. but somewhat surprisingly this duet does work.  And they look good together too..

Personally I thought the video was a bit odd since you barely see Mel C in the first half despite hearing her voice, but once she pops up on screen it gets better I feel.

Do I think this will some big hit and rock the charts?  No, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it does alright.  I can’t imagine people bopping down the street singing the chorus like some big hits, but you never know I suppose.

I enjoyed the song enough to listen to it a couple times.. and must have liked it on some level enough to post it on here I guess. LOL

Anyway, enjoy the video, and let me know what you think of their duet.

Tell me what you think:

