Movie Review: Mirror Mirror (2012)

Standard

Yes, I actually sat down and watched this dreadful Snow White adaptation.

Twice.

I have no idea why I decided it was a good idea to watch a second time, but it was free through LoveFilm.co.uk so I figured why not. I think I had recently watched ‘Snow White and the Huntsman‘ and have become addicted to the television show ‘Once Upon a Time‘, so that could account for it.

For comparison purposes, of course.

Of course, now I wish I’d watched something else instead. 😉

The ‘premise’ of the film, according to Julia Roberts‘ horribly-accented opening monologue (not sure what she was trying for there), is that the story is supposed to be told from the Evil Queen’s point of view. Except it isn’t.. which might have been something different and unique.

And I might have expected that from director Tarsem Singh, who’s previous directing credits include ‘Immortals‘ and the amazingly surreal ‘The Cell‘. But it didn’t happen unfortunately.

Instead, between bits of cardboard-‘acting’ by the aforementioned Ms Roberts and Nathan Lane (who is usually much funnier than this), we see Snow White (Lily Collins) meet her future Prince Charming (Armie Hammer) just before bunking in with the dwarfs as per the normal story.

Firstly, nothing against the casting of Collins and Hammer as Snow and Charming respectively. They were adequate enough, though a bit dull if you ask me. Isn’t Snow White supposed to beguile us through her innocence and sweet demeanor, making us all fall in love with her? And isn’t Prince Charming supposed to be, well, charming?

Not in this movie. She’s more of a tom-boy and he just seems… wimpy. hapless, cheesy and ineffectual. In fact, she beats him in a sword fight.

mirror-mirror-movie-posterThough how and when she learned to use a sword after being cooped up in that castle for her entire life is beyond me.. oh wait, it’s supposed to be a fairy tale..

But the worse casting choice has got to be the robotic Ms Roberts herself. The Evil Queen is supposed to vain, wicked and just plain EVIL, but instead she exudes wholesomeness and purity every time she smiles, just like she does in every movie she makes.

And for whatever reason it seems like she’s trying to play it for laughs or something.. Even when she’s supposed to be ‘angry’ or ‘vengeful’, it just seems so.. nice.

I thought the dwarfs were probably the best part of the entire movie. They were more unique and not the cliched stereotypes from the normal story.. and they even had different names and somewhat different personalities.

Ok, maybe not that different. 🙂

The action scenes with them were fantastic and well choreographed (especially the Queen’s marionette attack).

mirror mirror shirtless dwarfBut what surprised me, and make me feel all sorts of wrong (it is supposed to be a kid’s movie, right?!), was that some of those dwarfs were kinda HOT!!! LOL

*Shake it off. Shake it off.*

Right.. where was I..

This movie was easily made with the kiddie audience in mind, which is fine. However, I think it missed an opportunity to bring the adults into the foray just like other kid-centric movies have recently (best examples, see ‘Wreck-It Ralph‘ or ‘Up‘). I could easily imagine my sisters or nieces loving something like this .. when they were about 10 or 11 years old.

Ok.. maybe 8 or 9. LOL

Oh.. and that Bollywood dance number at the end of the movie? Too bizarre for words.. Made absolutely no sense at all and definitely didn’t fit the movie itself. Was like it was tacked on just for the sake of it.

5 thoughts on “Movie Review: Mirror Mirror (2012)

  1. Though I agree with most points in your review (yes, the dwarfs were hot!) I rather thought Julia Roberts did extremely well with the lines she was given and made the film watchable. During Snow White’s makeover scene, all I could think of was that her humongous eyebrows would finally be cleared with a sickle or something – sadly that didn’t happen. The Bollywood number was over the top and not in a good way. The director/editor/whoever-was-in-charge should have kept that scene for the DVD release. Good review though 🙂

    • I really wanted to like the movie, and did chuckle a few times.. think more than anything I was comparing it to Snow White & The Huntsman too much, though wouldn’t put that at the top of my ‘must see again’ list either. lol

      • Snow White and The Huntsman left me with mixed feelings. Kristen Stewart’s acting was not the best and she totally messed up the scene in which her character is supposed to fire up the soldiers for battle. Charlize Theron was incredible though..

  2. Not one of my favorite movies it was sweet in a very, Black Sabbath Lady Gaga duet, kind of way. I must be honest there are some excellent TV series on at present, Suits, Shameless, Revenge, Touched.

Tell me what you think:

