Happy ‘Make-Single-People-Feel-Bad-About-Themselves’ Day

Standard

Yeah.. that doesn’t sound bitter at all, does it? 😉

Yes, it’s Valentine’s Day, the one day of the year when you’re supposed to make a bit of extra effort with your sweetheart to show them how you feel.

Historically, according to Wikipedia:

The day was first associated with romantic love in the circle of Geoffrey Chaucer in the High Middle Ages, when the tradition of courtly love flourished. By the 15th century, it had evolved into an occasion in which lovers expressed their love for each other by presenting flowers, offering confectionery, and sending greeting cards (known as “valentines”)

kissing in rain2And here we all thought the day was created by Hallmark. 😉

So.. what about those of us who don’t have a sweetheart, who are completely and utterly (and feels like, eternally) single?

  1. Do you scramble to find a date of some sort, just so you don’t have to be alone on this fake ‘holiday’?
  2. Or do you spend it at home alone complaining to your friends how alone you are?
  3. Or do you spend the day with friends forgetting the actual existence of the ‘holiday’ and just enjoying their company?

Ok, I’ll admit it.. I generally spend more time doing No 2 than No 3, which ideally I would love to be doing.  If it wasn’t for the fact that my few close friends all have partners/boyfriends/husbands/etc, and those that don’t seem to live too far away to hang out with for an evening (I’m talking other countries, not just out of town).

The closest I’ve ever had anything remotely ‘romantic’ occur on the fabled February 14th is a few years back when the guy I was casually seeing broke things off on Valentine’s Day cause he thought I was getting too attached.

Oh…  I did get a text today from my fuck-buddy this morning wishing me a ‘Happy Valentines Day’… to which I responded his husband is his Valentine, not me.  He tried to say the day was celebrating love in general, including friendships (which is a lovely sentiment..), but I shut him down anyway quoting the above Wikipedia fact.

Yeah I know, he was just trying to be sweet, and I do appreciate it.  It’s just with him, I’m afraid he’s gotten too attached Single on VDay(Click HERE for post about that situation) and I don’t want to encourage him any further.

To be honest, I’ve never had a date on this day.. not even a shag (I think..).  To me, it’s another way for those smug partnered people to look down at those of us who are unable to find someone to spend their lives with.  As if we’re somehow defective.

I think the funniest blog I’ve seen about today so far has to be on The Oatmeal (Click HERE to read the post).  The cartoons are quite cute and made me chuckle, but in the end it was the ‘advice’ given to us singletons that I enjoyed.  It said:

If Valentine’s Days means so little to you, then I politely ask you to shut the hell up and treat it like another day. 

OR go have a sexy adventure rumpous with someone who smells nice.

VDay blah blahYep.. either shut the fuck up and stop whining about your love life, or at least go get laid so you’ll be too busy to complain.

Hmm… think maybe it’s time to take a bit of that advice for myself.

Let’s just hope it’s the second part of the message that occurs.  😉

3 thoughts on “Happy ‘Make-Single-People-Feel-Bad-About-Themselves’ Day

  1. I am a huge fan of your blog, you have an excellent way of making it so real! It’s funny, realistic, and always has a kick ass attitude. As someone said today, it’s not v-day but happy hump day. It’s actually a lame excuse for a holiday, WTF, spend money on same cuddle toy, chocolates dinner etc all for a good, well maybe not , bonk! It’s the one day you pretend your have the perfect boyfriend, husband, wife, girlfriend. I am not a fan. Happy hump day! Ivan.

    • Thanks Ivan! Been enjoying your blog as well. 🙂
      I’ve never been a fan of V-Day either (obviously lol).. You shouldn’t need a special day to tell your significant others how you feel.. for those that are lucky enough to have one. 😉

  2. aguywithoutboxers

    Everyday should be a “love” (platonic or intimate) day! It’s always nice to remind someone how special they really are, regardless of the date. Great post, mu blogger brother!

Tell me what you think:

