Standing Up Against Bullying

Standard

Bullying is something most people have had to deal with in some form or another.  And it’s definitely not easy sometimes.

Bully Calls News Anchor Fat, News Anchor Destroys Him On Live TV.
In the link above, an American news anchor (not sure where, but doesn’t matter really) responds to an email she’d received from a local view regarding her weight and how her being overweight sends the wrong message to impressionable young girls.

Now to me, her response and the response of her community is definitely inspiring.  She stands up to the bully and goes on to talk about how we need to re-educate ourselves and our children on how we address people.

Personally, I’ve been bullied throughout my life, especially as a child.  It was mostly surrounding my weight, but possibly could have been because I was perceived as a ‘soft’ child so was an easy target.

Let’s be straight about this.  Bullying is just one person’s way of bringing someone else down because they don’t feel good about themselves.  And sometimes it’s simply to hide their own insecurities.

One of my bullies in high school made fun of my size and how slow I was running among other things.  But the funny thing is he was overweight himself.  The difference was he was much taller and bigger than me, and was into sports.. and was friends with some of the popular kids and the jocks.

Obviously I never told anyone I was being bullied.. hell, I don’t know if I knew for sure if I was.  But what I do know is the school I went to did nothing about it, and there sure as hell wasn’t anyone I could go talk to about it without being labeled a tattle-tale or a sissy.

Should note most of the bullying occurred during our phys ed class, sometimes right in front of the teacher, but he did nothing to stop it… Of course he was also the football coach.

What we need to do as a society is stand up against bullying (October is anti-bullying month apparently), and show the children through our own actions, that this is not acceptable behavior.

Having a joke with someone is one thing.. when that person feels targeted, then it’s bullying regardless of what form it takes.

Tell me what you think:

