WTF Happened in Amsterdam?

Standard

As mentioned previously, I recently went to Amsterdam for a week’s holidays.  Since I’m not working at the moment, I decided I needed to get away for a bit.  The temporary contract I was working on came to an end.

Unfortunately it wasn’t as nice of a break as I would have liked.

I stayed with a guy I know there, ‘H’.  We’d kept in contact over the past year or so, and when I said I was going to have some time off, he invited me to come stay with him ‘as long as I wanted’ (his words, not mine).

When I visited him last year for about 4 days or so, we had a nice time together for the most part and ended up having sex about 7 or 8 times in that time.

Yes, he was that type of ‘friend’.

So obviously there were a few expectations (mostly on his part) that the same would happen this time.  Which they obviously didn’t.

We did have a bit of fun the first few days I was there, but that was about it.  As the week progressed, he got quiet and a bit distant.  I asked several times if there was anything wrong, but he kept saying he was fine.

One night when he made a move towards fooling around I brushed him off because I was tired and had a bit of a headache.  I just wasn’t in the mood.. and I don’t think that helped things at all.

He was working until 11pm every night, and he didn’t give me a set of keys so I could go back to his when I was done sight-seeing.  I had to spend 8 hours a day wandering around the city before meeting him at work.  There was only so much time I could spend doing the touristy thing or sitting around coffee shops, so I got tired.

It also didn’t help that the next day I went just outside of Amsterdam to Hoofddorp to spend an afternoon with a cute Egyptian guy I’d met at the gay Arabic bar a few nights prior after we’d messaged each other a few times on Growlr.

Though if H had gotten jealous of that, he shouldn’t have especially since he’d kept suggesting from the moment I started chatting to that guy that I should meet up with him and have some fun.  So I did.

Anyway, on my last full day in Amsterdam H had a day off, and the original plan was to spend the day together, possibly go to the beach in Zanvoort if the weather was nice.  Instead he told me he was going to his brother’s house and would message me when he got home.

Meaning I had to get out of the flat..

I’d already felt like something was wrong so I asked him once again, but he wouldn’t say what was up.  So I asked him point-blank if he even wanted me there any more.. to which he replied he didn’t care, it was up to me.

That pissed me off and definitely made me feel very unwelcome.  So I got a hotel room for my last night in Amsterdam, something I hadn’t budgeted for obviously.

When I got back to London, I got a message from him saying I’d used him, gotten him sick (I was fine the entire time I was there), that I’d cost him money (he wouldn’t let me pay for drinks the couple nights we went out or for the taxi home my first night there) and that he’d had to clean up my mess.

Ummm.. what mess?  I kept all my stuff together, and didn’t leave anything laying around, so I have no clue what he was talking about.

Obviously there was something bothering him while I was there, but he never said anything even when I asked.  To me if there is a problem, then it should be talked about.  Otherwise how am I to know there was something wrong?  Cause the last thing I’d want is to cause a problem with him, and if there was a problem, I’d do my best to make it right again.

I’m obviously missing something here..  he’s now removed me from Facebook and blocked me on the chat sites.  He didn’t even reply to me when I answered his message.

Guess I’ll never know..

One thought on “WTF Happened in Amsterdam?

Tell me what you think:

