Small Town Transgendered Teen Wins Prom Queen

Standard

Read the full article HERE

When I first read this story, I initially thought ‘Good for her’ .. and then I read where it was – Trenton, Ontario.

That’s the next town over from my hometown of Belleville.

What’s truly remarkable about it, to me, is I know what Trenton is like generally .. it’s a fairly backwards, closed-minded town full of factory and call centre workers.

Or at least that was always my perception of it until now.

Reading this has changed my perceptions of this little blue-collar town, and gives me hope that the old mentality of beating up gay, lesbian and trans-gendered people is slowly but surely becoming a thing of the past.

Though I do have to say I’m amazed that this young lady is living her life so openly and honestly at such a young age.  According to the article, she’s been living opening as a woman for 4 years!!  Now that’s fantastic.

Of course, as she states in the article, it hasn’t been easy and she almost didn’t even go to her prom.. and in fact was the first time she’d left her house in a full dress and heels.

This amazing person has guts to be doing what’s she’s doing so young .. and I for one am in awe of her.

Read the full article HERE

Tell me what you think:

