A Year in Review: 2009

Standard

For me, 2009 had a lot of ups and downs, as it probably did for a lot of people.  However, this past year had a big impact on my life in London, as it was the first full year I’d been living here.

And boy, did I go through a lot of changes. Well, at least I think I have.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to bore you (too much) by waxing lyrical over all the minute events of the past year.  I hate it when people do that, and I’d be here all day if I did so.

Possibly the biggest change over the past year has been my living situation.  Moving to Vauxhall with my friend James in March was probably the best thing I could have done this year.  We get along great as flatmates, and we love our flat so much we’ve already renewed our lease for another year.  It became home for both of us very quickly.

Another big change for me this past year was the joining of the London Raiders, a gay and lesbian softball group.  I initially sort of joined them last January through their off-season bowling league thanks to my friend Andrew, but ended up becoming an actual member when softball season started.

The biggest thing that happened for me as a Raider, was going to Copenhagen for the 2009 World OutGames.. where I won Gold and Silver Medals in Bowling, plus a Silver Medal in Softball!!  But best of all, I met some new amazing friends from all over the world that week, several of whom I’ve staying in contact with since.

And of course, anyone who truly knows me knows that I’ve had a lot of ups and downs this past year with work.  At one point, I’d almost lost my job thanks to my own stupidity regarding something I’d posted on here, and then I eventually was let out of my contract (with a weeks notice..) a couple months later when they decided they didn’t have any other work for me there.

Luckily I bounced back very quickly by moving to their biggest competitor in the outsourcing industry, and ended up working for the same company I’d been working for when I first started at the old company. (I’ve learned my lesson not to post anything about the companies I work for.. that’s how I almost lost my job in the first place..)  Admittedly, it’s still not my ideal job.  The last thing I’d wanted to do after moving to London was to work in another call centre, but at least I’m working.

And I suppose the only other thing I should touch on is my love life.  It’s been a tumultuous year, with a lot of fun and interesting people coming into my life one way or another for however short period of time, but it has also been one of self-discovery, awareness, and heartache.

But most of all (and this topic is something I may write more about in length at a later time), I think this past year has made me realise that people do find me interesting and attractive, and that some other people are just after sex, even if they say otherwise.  I’ve also come to realise that I deserve to be more than just someone’s ‘friend with benefits’, so it will be interesting to see what 2010 brings on that front.

I suppose, looking back on this year, you could say it was a good year for some things, and a bad year for other stuff.  But in the end, it was exactly what I made of it, good or bad, and everything that happens shapes who I am as a person.

And now it’s just a matter of taking all that experience into 2010, and making the best of this brand new year.  It’s a time of new beginnings and renewal of life itself.

Happy New Year to each and every one of you.  May 2010 bring you strength, inspiration, and serenity.

~M

Tell me what you think:

