And The Winners Are

Standard

I haven’t seen the actual telecast yet. In London it airs while I’d normally be sleeping, but I did go to the Oscars website when I got up today to see who the winners were.

I think this is the first time in years that I haven’t watched them live.

The obviously huge winner of the night was Slumdog Millionaire, which I haven’t seen yet but it’s on my ‘must see’ list. At this point, I’m curious to see what all the buzz is about.

Now Kate Winslet winning for ‘The Reader’ wasn’t really a shock. She’s been racking in the awards for this movie all year. Good for her.

Sean Penn’s win for ‘Milk’ was a bit of a nice surprise, especially since I don’t think he was the odds-on favorite. Somehow I was expecting Mickey Rourke to take this one.

The big acting surprise of the night had to be Penelope Cruz winning for ‘Vicki Cristina Barcelona’, a movie I’ve actually seen. I don’t get it .. She was good in the movie, but I don’t know if it Oscar-caliber.

And finally, Heath Ledger won a post-humous Oscar for his portayal of the Joker in ‘The Dark Knight’, which I think is completely deserved. This was an amazing performance by him, and I don’t think his passing away a year ago had anything to do with him winning. He’d started getting buzz for the Oscar before he OD’d.

The only thing I couldn’t find during my quick online search this morning was anything about the show itself and how Hugh Jackman was as host. With him hosting, it’s a return to old Hollywood where a song-and-dance man hosts the awards (think Bob Hope). I hope it went well.

Congrats to all the winners!

Tell me what you think:

