My Broken Mobile

Standard

So… today being the first day back to work, odds are there was something that was going to go wrong.  At first, I thought it was that I left my work pass at home.  And then I thought it might have been how the trains were about 20 minutes delayed this morning … over a miniscule amount of snow.  (Snow?  In London?!?  What a rarity!).

But in the end, it was the dreaded ‘things come in threes’ rule – the display on my mobile broke somehow.

I was on my way back to the training room and pulled out my phone to check the time, only to find I couldn’t see anything at all.  The screen had gone all white, and there was a line running vertically through it.

So off I went after work down to Oxford Street to go to one of the Orange locations.  Sure, I could have went anywhere in town, but I wanted to do some shoe shopping as well, and I was sure there’d still be a few decent sales on the high street.  lol

Anyway, I went into the Orange store just outside of Bond Street Station, to be told by one of the employees that they could definitely fix my phone (YAY!), as long as I had the receipt since it was still within 12 months from puchase (umm… what did I do with that 4 months ago?)…. and that they’d have to send it off for the repair, which would take at least 5 to 10 days (WHAT?!?!?!?!)!

Can you tell I didn’t like that answer?  I don’t know if I could survive that long without my phone.

So, this same employee starts to tell me I should go to this little souvenier shop that unlocks SIM cards, and that they would be able to fix it for me, for probably about £15 pounds.  I went across to the store, only to be told that the guy at Orange was wrong, and that it would cost £30 … and for that amount I could have a new phone, the same model even.

A bit later, after my shoe shopping, I went into another Orange store a bit farther down on Oxford Street, and they basically told me the same thing, only they also mentioned that Carphone Warehouse fixed phones as well, but it could be expensive.

So off I went to the closest one of those stores (across the street at the next corner), only that have to wait about 20 minutes before I could get to an employee to ask about getting the phone fixed … and they told me they’d charge me £45, but would be done the same day.  Except their repair department was closed at the moment due to a system issue.

And now I’m stuck with a decision regarding my phone.

  • Do I have Orange fix my phone, praying it’s still under the warranty and that I can survive a week without it?
  • Do I go to that shop (or one like it) and have them fix it for £30?
  • Do I go to Carphone Warehouse and have them fix it for £45?
  • Or do I go ahead and buy myself a new phone?  And do I buy the same phone or something new?

I think I’m leaning towards a new phone, but I can’t decide if I should get a completely new phone, and if I should bother to stick with Orange.  I haven’t minded their service, but I wouldn’t mind going for something a bit more high-tech (no, I’m not getting an iPhone… I think).

I so need to decide this ASAP.  Any ideas?

2 thoughts on “My Broken Mobile

Tell me what you think:

