Happy New Year

Standard

Well, here we are again at the cusp of a brand new year, and I’m sure most of us are trying to decide what we’d like to change about our lives this upcoming year.  Resolutions, if you will.

Come on, admit it.  You’ve made a list of some sort, even if it’s only in your head.  Or maybe it’s nothing so formal, and it’s more of a wish list.  Either way, you’re saying you want to change something in your life.

Good!  Change is always a good thing, whether you realize you need it or not.

As most people in my life already know, my big change for 2008 was planning and moving to London, which I did this past September.  Right now, I think it was the best choice I could have made in my life.  Life, for the most part, is good for me these days… but it could always be better.

Which is where the ‘resolutions’ come in.  I was chatting with a friend online the other day, and without realizing it, I made my 2009 resolutions in the middle of our conversation.  This is what I came up with, but in no particular order:

  • Find a new job that isn’t all the way in the west end of the city, and that isn’t in a call center.  My job isn’t completely horrible, but I’m just tired of the whole call center thing, and I didn’t come over to London to keep doing what I was doing in Montreal.  What I’d really like to do is somehow get a job in publishing or at a magazine of some sort, where I might get an opportunity to actually do something with my writing, or at least work my way up to doing that.
  • Find a new place to live that isn’t with so many people (I currently live with 5 other people!).  The people I live with are great and all, but they aren’t the cleanest people in the world.  I can’t stand cooking in a dirty kitchen, and I’m not about to start cleaning up after them all the time.  I’m used to living alone or with one other person, and living alone isn’t really a financial possibility in London.
  • Lose some weight.  I’ve gained a bit since I arrived in London, and I know a big part of that is due to the not cooking thing.  Instead of cooking, I tend to get take-away, usually either from the Chinese place around the corner, or the chicken shop a bit farther around the corner.  I also need to get some regular exercise, something more than just walking from the house to the train station, or the occasional night out dancing.
  • Make some new friends, especially ones that actually live in London.    I’ve met a few interesting people so far, but none that I could call up at a moment’s notice to go do something.  I guess what I’m saying is I need a new best friend of some sort.
  • Find a boyfriend.  Not the easiest thing to do, obviously, but I do want to find someone to settle down with.  Sure, the single life is fun and all, but sometimes you just want someone to cuddle up with in front of the telly.  I’m not necessarily talking about some big relationship, but at least someone to spent time with.
  • Travel more.  I came over to London so I could be able to see Europe like I’ve always wanted to.  The only place I’ve been to so far has been Edinburgh, which was amazing, but I need to go see some more places.  Even if they’re just some quickie weekend trips, at least I’ll be able to say I’ve been there.  Of course, on the other hand, I’m not 100% sure I want to go traveling around Europe by myself.
  • Quit smoking.  I say this every year (just like the losing some weight thing), but it’s not something I ever really try to do.  The good thing is I’ve cut back on my smoking big time since I moved to London, but this is mainly due to living in a non-smoking house (the others smoke too, but the house rule is no smoking in the house).
  • And finally, write more, particularly on here.  I set up this blog especially so I wouldn’t have any excuse for not having a medium to showcase my writing.  I’ve written a few things here and there, but nothing really new.

Now, I don’t expect any of those things to happen as soon as the clock strikes midnight tonight, but they are things I want to work on over the course of the next 12 months.  What I should do is what I did when I decided to move to London: write a checklist and set myself timeframes for some of the ‘resolutions’.

Nobody’s life is perfect, regardless of how things may appear to the outside world.  We all have things we want to improve about ourselves, and it’s all just a matter of taking things in hand and chosing to make a change.  You can only truly affect change on your own life, and nobody can make you change if you don’t really want to.  You have to be open to what may come next, and not be afraid of trying.

So let’s get out there and affect change on our own lives.  You’ll only have yourself to thank.

Happy New Year to all of you.  May the new year not only bring you love, happiness and health, but also bring you the courage and confidence to make a difference in your own life.

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. mpwilson

    Alright, something odd happened when I posted this today. It was immediately linked and posted onto the site from the above comment. All I know is I was doing some admin stuff on here, and the link showed up in my comments section. I followed the link, and it went to someone’s website promoting some weight loss solution using Alcaii berries (?)… and my posting was right there!

    I tried to leave a comment on that site, but it wouldn’t let me. Weird.

Tell me what you think:

